VLC media player?

Discuss anything related to portable freeware here.
1002Richards

VLC media player?

#1 Post by 1002Richards »

Hi,
If I were to use VLC media player would I be able to uninstall:
Windows Media Player
QuickTime Player
and Inter Video WinDVD

and still be able to watch movies, listen to music as I do now but with only one programme on my laptop instead of 3?

I'm new to this and don't want to make a mistake!

Thanks for your advice.
Richard

Darkbee

#2 Post by Darkbee »

This Chart shows which mediums and formats that VLC supports.

The short answer to your question is yes, you could uninstall the three programs you mentioned and use VLC to retain the functionality of the three programs combined.

It supports DVDs, Audio CDs and Mov files (QuickTime MOVies) among the many many others.

VLC isn't necessarily the best out there but it is a steady workhorse and I like it a lot. I also like the fact that it is available for many different platforms like Windows, Mac and Linux, so if you get used to using it on one platform then you will be instantly at home on another platform should you ever come across it.

It wasn't exactly clear in your original post but it doesn't sound like you necessarily need a portable media player, just one that has all of the functionality of the three programs you mentioned. If that is the case then you should keep in mind that this forum is specifically for portable applications (of which there is a portable version of VLC). You might not need such a specific forum, just a more general Windows help type forum. Unfortunately, I don't know of any. Having said that, I don't want to scare you away, generally the people on here are quite friendly and will always try to point you in the right direction.

1002Richards

#3 Post by 1002Richards »

Darkbee,